Please support Friends of the Bees to keep this forum free to use.

Natural Beekeeping International Forum
low-cost, low-impact, balanced beekeeping for everyone

Forum FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileYour Profile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Please Read The Rules before posting.

(country selected automatically - UK/USA/CA/AU)
Anyone have a Perone hive for more than a year or two?
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
CJ
Guard Bee

PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 4:18 pm    Post subject: Anyone have a Perone hive for more than a year or two? Reply with quote

I am new to this and I like the idea of a Perone hive.

Has anyone collected honey? Did it go as expected?

What happens when the the hive needs a new queen or runs out of room? How would you split this kind of hive? Has anyone, in the English speaking world, anyone, gotten this far?
biobee
Site Admin

PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have had three Perone-style hives in one apiary, populated for three seasons. By 'Perone-style', I mean they each comprise two Brother Adam Modified Dadant brood boxes, measuring nearly 500mm on each side and 300mm deep (20 inches by 12), with original frames, each with an empty box under them on wooden stands (to keep them from flooding - they are beside a stream that floods).

Each stack has had standard supers on it during summer, but has yet to produce more than a token amount of honey. The bees seem healthy, having had no treatments or medications (other than a powdered sugar treatment in their first year) during that time. They were all in good shape last week when I checked them.

None has shown signs of running out of room, but they could extend combs into the empty box if they wanted to.