Please support Friends of the Bees to keep this forum free to use.

Natural Beekeeping International Forum
low-cost, low-impact, balanced beekeeping for everyone

Forum FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileYour Profile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Please Read The Rules before posting.

(country selected automatically - UK/USA/CA/AU)
Populating a HTBH: Nuc or Package?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
IanT
Guard Bee

PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 3:34 pm    Post subject: Populating a HTBH: Nuc or Package? Reply with quote

Hello. I am new to this form, not new to bees. What a great place this is for knowledge on alternative bee keeping methods.

I have been actively keeping backyard bees here in north central Indiana for three years, and had intensive instruction in beekeeping several years back. My efforts with Langstroth hives have been largely successful, in that I have managed to keep my colony alive and productive for three years (though this year and brutal winter might be too much for them).

My fiancé is interested in getting started with bees and constructed a HTBH with the help of her father and his extensive wood shop. I do not have any experience with HTBH. We want to populate the hive this year. I have a Indiana bee supply business that owes me credit that I need to expend. I was thinking about getting a package of bees for the purpose of the starting HTBH. However after listening a BioBee podcast I was exposed to the method to using a standard 5-frame nuc to populate the TBH. I was thinking that a using a nuc might also be better from the standpoint that my Langstroth hive has suffered this winter and by the time it is over will be quite week, or maybe, at worst expired.