Please support Friends of the Bees to keep this forum free to use.

Natural Beekeeping International Forum
low-cost, low-impact, balanced beekeeping for everyone

Forum FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileYour Profile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Please Read The Rules before posting.

(country selected automatically - UK/USA/CA/AU)
Possible Queen Loss/Laying Workers in Brand New TBH

View previous topic :: View next topic  
BaltimoreUrbanBee
House Bee

PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2014 4:05 pm    Post subject: Possible Queen Loss/Laying Workers in Brand New TBH Reply with quote

Hello. I am brand new at beekeeping. I did a ton of research and I feel very good about what I know. But as you all know, experience is the only way really to learn something like beekeeping.

I installed a 3lb package on April 21. Although it seemed like everything was going wrong during installation, the end result was perfect. 4 days later, I went in and removed the empty queen cage. They had already drawn comb on 3 or 4 bars at that point. The bar with the queen cage has a split where the cage was hanging down, but it's not hurting anything. Pollen and nectar stores looked great and I even saw some eggs. All was going very smoothly.

I left the country from April 27 for 7 days. The moment I returned home on May 4, I went up and checked on the girls. They had drawn one or two more bars of comb, but the very end comb was doubled, parallel on one bar (my bars are a little wide, but manageable). Since it was such a small piece they had just started, I figured it would be no problem to just chop it off and keep it for myself.