Please support Friends of the Bees to keep this forum free to use.

Natural Beekeeping International Forum
low-cost, low-impact, balanced beekeeping for everyone

Forum FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileYour Profile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Please Read The Rules before posting.

(country selected automatically - UK/USA/CA/AU)
anyway to rescue this disaster?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
ellent
New Bee

PostPosted: Sun May 25, 2014 11:18 pm    Post subject: anyway to rescue this disaster? Reply with quote

I am new to beekeeping. I got a top bar hive last year, installed a package of bees, and they absconded within a week. This year, I installed a package of Italian bees, and they are rapidly building comb, and I have about 5 bars which contain capped brood, now on day 22 from installation. They are building comb on 10 bars. From the beginning, I have had problems with cross-comb, which I have tried very hard to fix, watching various videos on the internet, etc. Things seemed to be going better, although there are still places where they are building what I would call tongues of double comb--a small piece that sticks out parallel to the main comb. From the beginning, the first bar has been a problem. I started it with the queen cage, as straight as I could get it, and some wired-on comb leftover from last year, again as straight as I could get it. They keep building these tongues, and then putting little columns of comb on the divider board where the comb bends away from the board.