Please support Friends of the Bees to keep this forum free to use.

Natural Beekeeping International Forum
low-cost, low-impact, balanced beekeeping for everyone

Forum FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileYour Profile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Please Read The Rules before posting.

(country selected automatically - UK/USA/CA/AU)
Bees building 3 combs on a bar and up to the ceiling

View previous topic :: View next topic  
mickburke
New Bee

PostPosted: Mon Jun 09, 2014 5:46 am    Post subject: Bees building 3 combs on a bar and up to the ceiling Reply with quote

I'm new to the top bar and beekeeping world, and have found that my bees are going crazy building comb. When I look at photos here and other locations, they seem to all build fairly uniform v shaped and fit between the bar and the body of the box without any other connection.

Mine, they have built on two bars, both of which they have a comb coming off the left side of the bar, the center (where the actual insert that they are supposed to build off of is), and one off the right side. Also, they build from the side ones past the top of the bar, and in the one case, built all the way to the lid. The last time I checked it, they had built so much that the two bars actually lifted up with the lid. Fortunately I lifted slowly and didn't do any damage... They also built the combs so large that they went all the way down and built into the side of the box.

Am I doing something wrong, or is here something else I should be doing to avoid this?? Someone else said to 'prune' it so that there's just the middle comb on each, but I'm hesitant to remove anything for fear they won't have enough to get through their first winter...

Here are photos of the whole deal:
https://picasaweb.google.com/103425203988192506940/Bees?authkey=Gv1sRgCJKk4Kq_teXctQE

Thanks for any input or recommendations!