Please support Friends of the Bees to keep this forum free to use.

Natural Beekeeping International Forum
low-cost, low-impact, balanced beekeeping for everyone

Forum FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileYour Profile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Please Read The Rules before posting.

(country selected automatically - UK/USA/CA/AU)
1 follower board & end entrance Q's

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Carlos of the woods
New Bee

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2014 4:12 pm    Post subject: 1 follower board & end entrance Q's Reply with quote

Hello

I am new to TBH's - I have posted in the Introduce Yourself topic the background story...

But to cut it short we have a newly purchased TBH, which had a swarm added 1 & half weeks ago.

The TBH we bought has the entrances at both ends of the hive, with 1 follower board.. which we originally put 2/3 rd's along from the entrance... with 6 top bars with starter strips the rest without starter strips.

It has an observation window, and the bees are building comb - last check they were onto their 5th one (although that's presuming they started on top bar

As the entrance is at one end, they appear to be building the largest comb nearest the entrance, from what I've read this is fairly normal that they will build brood closest to the entrance and stores the opposite end to the entrance..

Now as only 1 follower came with the TBH, and the entrance is at one end not on the long face as in Phil's & others designs.. my question are...

- would it be a good idea to add in another bar near the entrance, or even move the first bar along and add another one/or more in?

- Could you move them along even more and add in another follower board between the entrance and start of brood. Would you need to make more than 1 hole in the follower board to allow for bee movement to and from the end entrance if so?