Please support Friends of the Bees to keep this forum free to use.

Natural Beekeeping International Forum
low-cost, low-impact, balanced beekeeping for everyone

Forum FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileYour Profile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Please Read The Rules before posting.

(country selected automatically - UK/USA/CA/AU)
Does anybody out there keep Asian honeybees (Apis cerana)?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
normC
New Bee

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2014 3:08 am    Post subject: Does anybody out there keep Asian honeybees (Apis cerana)? Reply with quote

Hi, newbie here. I went through the topics in last couple of days and I 100% agree with all who say - start with local mutts. In my case it is mostly for two reasons - 1) mite resistance, 2) my foraging options ( My first hive will be on a fully forested west facing mountainside surrounded by 300+ acres of pineforest, some wild grassed areas, possibly some rice fields). Although I could get Italiens, I don't think they would like the area too much Confused .
The only publication, I know of, talking about Asian/Oriental bees is VITA and those guys suggest to scale down the hive size from 40-60 litters to half. So that's where my scream for help is coming from.
Trying to get my TBH build and ready to go for the end of March.
And one more thing - Merry Christmas to you all !!!
andy pearce
Silver Bee

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2014 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you get on you tube and search 'traditional Japanese beekeeping' you get onto 'mituro36's set of videos about keeping Apis cerana japonica in the traditional way. These are very interesting and this type of hive is being tested with European bees by some people on this forum.