Please support Friends of the Bees to keep this forum free to use.

Natural Beekeeping International Forum
low-cost, low-impact, balanced beekeeping for everyone

Forum FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileYour Profile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Please Read The Rules before posting.

(country selected automatically - UK/USA/CA/AU)
TBH Ireland

View previous topic :: View next topic  
greengage
Guard Bee

PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2015 8:05 am    Post subject: TBH Ireland Reply with quote

As i mentioned earlier Im new to this and plan on having a TBH at home but at work we are getting bees and will probably use National hives, because that is what everyone else uses, (It gets complicated politics) anyway we had a visit from a beekeper to look at our set up and I mentioned TBH, She didnt seem too impressed as there as too much work involved. She also suggested buying swarms, I was hoping to catch one as getting into beekeeping here could cost a lot of money with ,Gear/hives and ancillary equipment, I have seen a number of swarms last year and our visitor caught 18 swarms last year, I dont know if its true or not, anyway ill press on and keep you briefed if your interested, lot more to this than meets the eye, read a recent post here where they mentioned a bee inspector dont know if we have one of these here but did register my hens with the dept (due to H5N1 outbreak a few years ago in Asia) and got a lot of stick for that from another forum but thats another story. Lots of info here good site keep up the good work
biobee
Site Admin

PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2015 1:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I remember the old tower in the cemetery of Kildare Cathedral...

You could track down Mike Cahn of Carraig Dulra, Co. Wexford (he's on here somewhere...) who has a couple of TBHs and is not so far from you. There are others in Dublin.
greengage