Please support Friends of the Bees to keep this forum free to use.

Natural Beekeeping International Forum
low-cost, low-impact, balanced beekeeping for everyone

Forum FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileYour Profile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Please Read The Rules before posting.

(country selected automatically - UK/USA/CA/AU)
Inspection accident = p***ed off bees! How best to proceed?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
lildesyl
House Bee

PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2015 4:16 pm    Post subject: Inspection accident = p***ed off bees! How best to proceed? Reply with quote

Hi all,

I'm a newbie here... first swarm caught and happily installed in my HTBH in June last year.

I regularly inspected the hive throughout last summer-autumn and had no problems, the bees have been very happy and docile.

I opened up the hive today for my first inspection of the year. The bees have been very active for the last couple of weeks, and I went in early afternoon. They were completely indifferent to me... until...

It turned out that the follower board had warped/swollen over the winter and was firmly stuck. I gently tried to free it up and thought I'd succeeded but no, so as I moved it the hive gave a mighty jolt and suddenly I had boiling mad bees!

I got stung maybe 5 times but that's no problem... but I'm very concerned about my furious bees. I did the decent thing and left, but this means that the hive is open at the moment. I need to go back and add a couple more bars if possible (it's packed to bursting in there) and get the roof back on.

I'm not concerned about being stung, but I want to know the best way to do it without further upsetting the bees. I feel rotten for causing such disruption and just want to let them return to their normal, chilled-out state.