Please support Friends of the Bees to keep this forum free to use.

Natural Beekeeping International Forum
low-cost, low-impact, balanced beekeeping for everyone

Forum FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileYour Profile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Please Read The Rules before posting.

(country selected automatically - UK/USA/CA/AU)
Entrance(S) confusion

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Bobrm2
House Bee

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2015 1:11 pm    Post subject: Entrance(S) confusion Reply with quote

I'm a total novice bee keeper, but experienced carpenter; with the first of what I hope will be several TBH's. Everything seems to be in order as I understand things, except entrance placement.

I am uncertain just where to place entrances. No holes drilled in the outer body, and I intend to make the entrances 1 inch in diameter (need to become more familiar with the metric system.).

The end of constructed hive body, lets say to the left, has a feeder set-up, so that jars with screen/floats can be placed there. Then, a follower board with a (1) hole drilled low and just above the floor of the feeding area. I've next placed six top bars (1 3/8's inches wide) and the other follow bar.

A. Do I place entrances at that end, so the bees are forces to pass by the sugar water source?

B. Are the entrances placed at an end, so the brood will be first in the hive, then honey storage, or are holes placed in the center of the hive, allowing the bees to set-up their own interior.

C. How many holes, is another question?

Can supply pictures, and hope my question(s) are clear?

Thank you and off to plant new fruit trees/berry bushes.

Bob
Barbara
Site Admin

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2015 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Bob.