Please support Friends of the Bees to keep this forum free to use.

Natural Beekeeping International Forum
low-cost, low-impact, balanced beekeeping for everyone

Forum FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileYour Profile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Please Read The Rules before posting.

(country selected automatically - UK/USA/CA/AU)
Possible Late Swarm or New Queen

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Drafty
House Bee

PostPosted: Thu Jun 04, 2015 5:52 pm    Post subject: Possible Late Swarm or New Queen Reply with quote

Hi,

This is my first year beekeeping, I was lucky enough to be given a swarm with we think a new queen from my brother's national hives. we weren't sure if the new queen had made her mating flight before moving them. I installed the swarm into the new hive with about 10 bars and some syrup to get them going. after about 5 weeks they have built 6 90% filled bars.

I have done a couple of inspections and seen some uncapped honey arched over what I expect to be the brood comb, but no brood as yet. My main query is that I have also seen what appears to be a swarm cell on the edge of one of the combs and a possible emergency queen cell in the middle of one of the other combs.

Is it possible that the swarm queen has not mated and they are now looking to replace her, are they possibly looking to swarm and move on or do I need to try and re-queen the hive from an outside source.

as this is my first hive and its only about 6 weeks old, any advise will be good.

Thanks, Andy
Dexter's shed
Scout Bee

PostPosted: Thu Jun 04, 2015 6:21 pm    Post subject: Re: Possible Late Swarm or New Queen Reply with quote

Drafty wrote:
Hi,

, but no brood as yet.

My main query is that I have also seen what appears to be a swarm cell on the edge of one of the combs and a possible emergency queen cell in the middle of one of the other combs.