Please support Friends of the Bees to keep this forum free to use.

Natural Beekeeping International Forum
low-cost, low-impact, balanced beekeeping for everyone

Forum FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileYour Profile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Please Read The Rules before posting.

(country selected automatically - UK/USA/CA/AU)
How best to approach getting bees out of a tree trunk.

View previous topic :: View next topic  
frasertree
New Bee

PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2015 7:02 pm    Post subject: How best to approach getting bees out of a tree trunk. Reply with quote

Hi everyone. I am new to bee keeping and really love it. I'm driving everyone mad with talking about bees at home.
I am an arborist by trade and have come across some bees in a hollow tree trunk. I have been told that the bees have been there for three years by the owner but they are in the wrong place near the owners front door. Had the owner running around the garden with an angry bee in her hair. So she has had enough of them and of people getting stung.
So from what I have read, a 'trap out' takes a long time and you don't get the queen or all the bees.
The other idea is to drill a small hole near to where I think the edge of the hive is and spray some 'bee quick' in the hole and Hoover like mad at the entrance with a bee vac as the bees come out. Sounds good, does it work? Is it the best way? The tree has to stay. Feel I may be running out of time to get them moved and settled too. Any help please. Thanks
Che Guebuddha
Golden Bee

PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2015 7:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I suggest you place a few swarm traps in the area and keep doing so year in year out to get a nice wild stock of bees. In Denmark we hardly have any old hollow trees and would be a shame to cut such down just to take out the bees.