Please support Friends of the Bees to keep this forum free to use.

Natural Beekeeping International Forum
low-cost, low-impact, balanced beekeeping for everyone

Forum FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileYour Profile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Please Read The Rules before posting.

(country selected automatically - UK/USA/CA/AU)
open mesh floor and ants

Post new topic   Reply to topic    beekeeping forum -> Conventional and miscellaneous hives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
mark.b
House Bee

PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2015 10:57 pm    Post subject: open mesh floor and ants Reply with quote

Hi

I have been keeping bees for a couple of years (treatment free) tried warres but not been to successful with the honey harvest but managed to increase the bee population with a few swarms. Anyway trying nationals now and see how things progress I intend to manage them with minimal intervention and no treatments. I have never used a mesh floor before and I do have a lot of ants in my garden I was wondering about ant powder but see it is harmful to bees so that is out any thoughts on the ant bait box beneath the hive to try and stop the pests? Also do you leave the draw of the mesh floor out in the summer and then close them up for winter?

Thanks in advance
Mark
rmcpb
Scout Bee

PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2015 1:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why would you leave it open in summer? Cool air sinks and the bees work hard to cool their hives in summer and you are letting it fall out of the hive. My hives have solid floors and have no problems over summer.

Cheers
Rob.
AugustC
Silver Bee

PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2015 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote