Please support Friends of the Bees to keep this forum free to use.

Natural Beekeeping International Forum
low-cost, low-impact, balanced beekeeping for everyone

Forum FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileYour Profile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Please Read The Rules before posting.

(country selected automatically - UK/USA/CA/AU)
Managing my TBBHs

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Uwe in USA
Guard Bee

PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2015 2:57 pm    Post subject: Managing my TBBHs Reply with quote

I am a more novice beekeeper. I have been beekeeping more or less successful for three years. this year it looks very good. What I did is that I have three TBBHs and all are doing very well. I used to have a mentor but not any more so I always can use some help which I don't get much here in Arlington VA. People are too busy here. When I first got my one TBBH I was told by my mentor that he doesn't use the follower boards or the queen separator or whatever that is called. So I have been following his approach. Two of my TBBHs have entrances (three holes ) in the middle with the holes being 2 inch in diameter. That is where I started to hang my queen from a Top bar in the middle of the hive. Now those two TBBHs have expanded to both sides and are almost full. what can I do, do I need to move some bars around and harvest. How should I move them around for those two hives which started in the middle. The other question is for the TBBH which has three entrance holes on the top of the hive at the beginning of the hive. But I also hung the queen from the middle bar in the hive and now its almost full around. I still haven't understood how to move bars around or do I have too. I thought the bees take care of it by them selves. I see so many reportages about bees where they build their combs in the nature for example in closets and chimney so I thought th