Please support Friends of the Bees to keep this forum free to use.

Natural Beekeeping International Forum
low-cost, low-impact, balanced beekeeping for everyone

Forum FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileYour Profile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Please Read The Rules before posting.

(country selected automatically - UK/USA/CA/AU)
Cross combing disaster

View previous topic :: View next topic  
B Dawson
House Bee

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 7:07 pm    Post subject: Cross combing disaster Reply with quote

This is my first year hive keeping, there is no mentor in the area and i'm afraid I've tipped over the edge of disaster now.

Right after I installed my two packages in April, my mother passed away and the poor bees were left to their own resources, other than slipping in some syrup.

I made certain the hives were level both side to side and front to back, but the brood area is seriously cross-combed and inspections are impossible. Our summer had a serious hot spell early on and I think they wanted extra support for the comb.

I've worked to straighten out the bars on either end and seem to have made good headway there, but when I try to separate the 4 - 5 bars over the center entrance, I pull apart comb and I see larvae in the broken cells. To add to the issue, the worst hive (#2) is given to crankiness if I'm messing about too long. Working time is maybe 15 minutes before that amazing sudden increase in hum level starts.

Is there anyway to recover from this? I've thought about screwing a pair of braces across the joined bars, pulling them up as a single unit and then gently trying to cut the top edges of comb, straighten and reattach them. But is it too late in the season - I'm in West Virginia where it's late summer. I don't want to risk losing winter brood.

Thanks for any suggestions.

Cheers,
B
trekmate
Golden Bee